top of page
  • musicadmin9

Alumni Interview Series: Tony Nguyen

Who was a faculty member that influenced you?

I would say that Joel Larue Smith pushed me musically to explore more experimental, harmonically thicker textures in my music in his jazz composition class

Prof. Pennington taught me to think critically about all the music I listen to, poke at my assumptions, and cross check what I think vs what others think

In what ways has the Tufts music department prepared you for your professional and/or personal life post-grad?

Tufts music has given me the tools to be more critical of the music I listen to and the institutions that influence the music and culture around us.

What advice would you give current Tufts music students?

Be kind to yourself! Allow yourself the space to figure things out. I’ve changed careers multiple times and I’m only 2 years out of college. You don’t need to have it all figured out right now, just make sure you’re satisfied with the general direction your life is going. If it’s the wrong direction, then you just make a turn and head somewhere new, you never know where you’re gonna end up, but I can guarantee that you’ll figure it out along the way.

If you could design/teach a class for the Tufts music department now, what would it be?

Pop Songwriting, I’d love to have run a songwriting seminar specifically on creating music made to be consumed and emotionally resonate with as many people as possible

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page